Teversham CE VA Primary School

Inspire Believe Achieve


The Role of our Governing Body

The governing board provides strategic leadership and accountability. It has three key functions:

  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction


Together with the headteacher, governors set the aims and objectives for the school and set the policies and targets for achieving those aims and objectives. They monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making and act as a source of challenge and support to the headteacher.

Our Governors

Mrs Tarita Smallwood - Foundation Governor - Co Chair

Dr Liz Taylor - Foundation Governor - Co Chair

Mr Francis Laud - Co Opted - Vice Chair

Dr Fiona Herczog - LA Governor

Mrs Rebecca Wylie - Foundation Governor

Mrs Victoria Luscombe - Parent Governor

Mrs Joanne Hayward - Parent Governor
Mrs Louisa Kenzie - Headteacher

Mrs Sue Lander - Staff Governor

Mrs Ann Abineri - Clerk


Tarita SmallwoodTarita Smallwood's background is in business management, having worked in senior management positions for over 20 years in the corporate and charity sectors. She is a Fellow Chartered Accountant and currently has two roles: Director of Finance & Development for Biblical Counselling UK and Finance & HR Manager for Christ Church Cambridge. She is a parent of two girls at the school, has been a foundation governor since 2019 and is Co-Chair of governors with Liz Taylor, focussing on all matters to do with resources.


Dr Liz Taylor's background is in education, having taught geography at secondary level then working in teacher training at the Faculty of Education, University of Cambridge, for 17 years. Now she is a freelance education consultant, working internationally, as well as pastoral worker at Hope Community Church in Teversham. She has been a foundation governor at Teversham since 2013 and is now Co-Chair of governors, focussing on all matters to do with curriculum.

The Structure of Governance

As well as meeting twice a term as a Full Governing Body, Teversham Primary School also has two committees, in order to ensure sufficient oversight, support and accountability towards areas of identified priority and statutory coverage. The school names these committees as:

  • Resources Committee – which mainly deals with Finance, HR, Health and Safety, and Buildings
  • Curriculum Committee – which mainly deals with the curriculum, assessment and data, SEND, and Pupil Premium expenditure and impact


Both committees and the Governing Body overall have a continued oversight of the school’s safeguarding responsibilities and manage the updates of school policies aligned to the particular areas of responsibility.

In addition to the above, the school also constitutes a Pay Committee and Headteacher Performance Management Panel annually.


Committees related to particular purposes such as dealing with complaints or exclusions are constituted as they are required, in line with the determining policy guidance.

Governor Meetings Pecuniary Interests